From Chicago to Cleveland and Back Again

This weekend I was in Cleveland, Ohio for a friend’s wedding, so I was able to have a change of scenery for my weekend run.  A bunch of us stayed downtown at the Ritz Carlton (thank goodness for the discounted rooms!), so I used MapMyRun to come up with a running route that would allow me to see some of the sights that Cleveland has to offer.  I ended up running with a few of my friends and we were able to see a lot of great things, including Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena, and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

I was really surprised how easy it was go get around in Cleveland.  It is not nearly as crowded as Chicago, and the streets and sidewalks are so clean!  I will say, though, that Chicago has a far better scenic lake view than Cleveland.  Something about Lake Erie just isn’t the same as Lake Michigan.

This weekend also reminded me how important it is to take time out of my busy schedule to enjoy life’s great moments with my friends and family.  My mom’s side of the family all lives in and around Cleveland, so I ended up getting to spend some time with them as well during my trip.  Even with the stresses of the first week of school, I was able to enjoy myself and forget about all the work for just a little bit of time.  I hope you all are finding time for yourselves amid the start of a new school year. 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “From Chicago to Cleveland and Back Again

  1. Sounds like an awesome weekend. It is great that you took the time to enjoy yourself and time with your family and friends. It is all to easy to get caught up with all we have to do, this is a great reminder to enjoy time with those we love! Still haven’t gone out for a run, maybe it is in my future though?!?

  2. I am impressed that you run on vacation. Good for you!!! I do alot of eating and walking when I am away. 🙂 I agree that there aren’t too many places around with the beautiful scenery that Chicago has to offer.

Leave a Reply

