It’s the Playoffs!

Throughout the summer, I have been playing in an adult kickball league (yes, they exist!) with a lot of my friends from college.  I went to the University of Dayton for my undergrad and when I moved to Chicago, I found out that UD has its own kickball league.  Naturally, my friends and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to show off our awesome skills on the field, so we formed a team and joined the fun!  Below is a picture of our fabulous team!

After several Wednesday night games (some wins, some losses), we have now entered the important part of the season…the playoffs.  Last Wednesday was our first playoff game and we won 12-2!   Our team captain is very competitive so I am always terrified to do something wrong.  I typically find a spot way in the outfield where the ball never goes so I don’t have to touch the ball.  🙂   I am more interested in making sure that my shoes don’t get too dusty than making sure I am good at kickball.  I will say that I am pretty good at the whole kicking thing though.  I got on base twice last game!

Probably the best part of kickball is all of our college friends getting together before the games to hang out and catch up.  We all enjoy having this time of the week to unwind and have some fun.  Sometimes college seems like just yesterday.  🙂

Playoff game #2 takes place next Wednesday night.  Hoping for another win!  Oh, and if your are really interested in adult kickball…check out WAKA – The World Adult Kickball Association.  Hooray!

 

2 thoughts on “It’s the Playoffs!

  1. Love the idea of getting to play kickball. That was one of my favorite things to do as a kid. It does crack me up though that you are more worried about your shoes than catching the ball. By the way, we are in college again and it probably was just yesterday the you were in it. For some reason though, I think if our cohort got a kickball team we would really make Shane go crazy!! Poor guy.

  2. Woo-hoo! So exciting! How did week 2 go?! I totally would be the same way about enjoying the before/after more than the game itself – I would be the same way! 🙂 Will you do any other fun league sports do you think?

Leave a Reply

